

# **LGA Leadership Board**

18 May 2011

Item 4

## LGA Vice Presidents 2011 - 2012

# **Purpose of report**

To detail the suggested LGA Parliamentary Vice Presidents for the coming year.

# **Summary**

This report outlines the roles of LGA Vice Presidents and a list of the current nominees for Vice President for the year 2011/12.

### Recommendation

For noting and discussion

### **Action**

To agree that these names will be the LGA's suggestions for Vice Presidents to be put forward at the LGA AGM in June.

**Contact officer:** Greg Taylor

**Position:** Senior Political Adviser

**Phone no:** 0207 664 3034

**E-mail:** greg.taylor@local.gov.uk



## **LGA Leadership Board**

16 March 2011

Item 4

### LGA Vice Presidents 2011 - 2012

## **Background**

- 1. Every year the LGA nominates Vice Presidents to act as our champions in Parliament. This group of MPs and Peers is our first port-of-call with Parliamentary Questions, amendments to legislation, debate interventions and speeches, Early Day Motions and any other methods designed to increase the profile of the LGA in Parliament and help protect the reputation of councils. Vice Presidents usually have a strong background in local government and are committed to supporting localist ideas in Parliament.
- 2. As usual, this year each political group has been asked to nominate their suggestions for Vice Presidents for the coming year. These suggestions will then be presented at the General Assembly Annual Meeting which takes place before the start of the LGA Annual Conference on 28 June. The suggestions, broken down on a party-by-party basis, are listing below. This list is not yet confirmed and may be amended or added to.

#### 3. Conservatives

- a. Gavin Barwell MP (Croydon Central)
- b. Mike Freer MP (Finchley and Golders Green)
- c. Henry Smith MP (Crawley)
- d. Charles Walker MP (Broxbourne)
- e. Heather Wheeler MP (South Derbyshire)
- f. Baroness Eaton
- g. Philip Bradbourn MEP
- h. Julie Girling MEP

#### 4. Labour

- a. Heidi Alexander MP (Lewisham East)
- b. Clive Betts MP (Sheffield South East)
- c. Louise Ellman MP (Liverpool Riverside)
- d. Ian Mearns MP (Gateshead)
- e. Lord Beecham
- f. Lord Knight of Weymouth
- g. Baroness Smith of Basildon
- h. Lord Smith of Leigh
- i. Richard Howitt MEP
- j. Derek Vaughan MEP



# **LGA Leadership Board**

16 March 2011

Item 4

### 5. Liberal Democrats

- a. Gordon Birtwistle MP (Burnley)
- b. Annette Brooke MP (Mid Dorset and Poole North)
- c. Mike Hancock MP (Portsmouth South)
- d. Mark Hunter MP (Cheadle)
- e. Julian Huppert MP (Cambridge)
- f. David Ward MP (Bradford East)
- g. Baroness Barker
- h. Lord Greaves
- i. Baroness Maddock
- j. Lord Rennard
- k. Lord Shipley
- I. Edward McMillan Scott MEP
- m. Catherine Bearder MEP
- n. Fiona Hall MEP
- o. Peter Black AM

## 6. Independents

- a. Lord Alton
- b. Lord Bichard
- c. Baroness Greengross
- d. Baroness Howarth
- e. Lord Ouseley
- f. Lord Walpole
- g. Keith Taylor MEP

### \* Those names in bold denote new nominees for Vice President

### **Financial Implications**

None

### **Conclusion and Next Steps**

LGA Leadership Board to confirm that these names are to be presented at the LGA General Assembly Annual Meeting as recommended Vice Presidents for the year 2011/12.